Information obesity, media and other teaching successes! [1]

Computer says NO!

What if you have spent 6 hours to update a presentation and when you were ready to transfer the file in your memory stick and head to class, your computer crashes and stubbornly denies to start-up?

Well…, that was the case for me yesterday morning, before heading to Bloomsbury to deliver a session to Sociology students.

Reflection before Action or panic?

OK, things happen..

  • What did I do wrong?
  • How am I going to deliver the session without the presentation?
  • How am I going to convey the message to visual learners?
  • Are they going to learn anything?
  • Am I going to deliver a boring session?
  • How am I going to mention this catastrophe to the students?
  • How am I going to meet their expectations for handouts without handouts?

    Anatomical reflection

    Anatomical reflection

  • How am going to touch upon abstract topics without any visual aid?
  • Are they going to hear what am I saying and think beyond what I am saying or are they going to engage with exhausting and exhaustive note-taking?
  • How will I spark their imagination without pictures?
  • Is there any lesson here for me?
  • What if my computer is dead for good…
  • That is a catastrophe! I have all the evidence of my Chartership stored in the PC… and pictures… and my latest report for LILAC (Librarians Information Literacy Conference) in which I will base the training session I will deliver to colleagues….
  • OK, let’s think about it later… what am I going to do with the students in 2 hours from now…
  • I had prepared nice examples to work around finding information on racism, homophobia in education, sexism in the UK society, etc. I don’t remember the worked examples…
  • Is their lecturer going to panic when I tell her that I have no presentation?
  • Is she going to book a session with me again?
  • Are students going to trust me?
  • Am I going to be seen as unprofessional in front of their eyes?
  • I was looking so much forward to delivering this session….
  • I had incorporated all my recent reflections and understanding in this presentation… what a disaster!

(to be continued)

Image credit: “Anatomical blogger, after Andreas Vesalius” by Mike Licht shared under CC-BY

This entry was posted in #fslt12 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Information obesity, media and other teaching successes! [1]

  1. jennymackness says:

    Hi Eleni – I am looking forward to reading the sequel to this. I suspect this kind of thing happens more often than we realise.

    I remember that once – years ago – I was running an inservice training day for teachers in a hotel about 40 minutes drive from my home. I got there early, set myself up (lots of practical science equipment to organise), thought I was ready and then went to find my file of session notes, transparency slides (which we used in those days) etc. Nowhere in sight. I had left them at home. The feeling of complete panic was immense – I did not have time to drive home and get them – but my children rescued me. I phoned home. My son had just passed his driving test. My daughter found my file for me – and together they got straight in the car and brought my file to the hotel for me.

    I often wonder what I would have done had they not been at home and had they not responded immediately and without question. So I’m wondering how you coped 🙂

  2. Vikas says:

    I really really wish that you have coped and survived with it. Awaiting for the sequence to this to know what happened.

  3. Pingback: Information obesity, media and other teaching successes! [3] | Eleni's First Steps

  4. Mulaudzi Jeyson says:

    I really really wish that you have coped and survived with it. Awaiting for the sequence to this to know what happened.

Leave a Reply

