Acknowledge the wider context in which HE operates recognizing the implications for professional practice: Value 4

Acknowledge the wider context in which higher education operates recognizing the implications for professional practice

The Higher Education landscape is a rapid changing environment and I feel that the new challenges of the 21st century will continue to transform our practice.

I recently attended the 8th Librarians Information Literacy Conference (LILAC) in Glasgow where Lord Putnam argued that oracy has to become an important element in our teaching as voice recognition technologies (e.g. Google voice, Apple’s Siri) will dominate in the future. He also referred to an expert panel that is currently reviewing the UK National Curriculum and acknowledges the central importance of spoken language to the new curriculum.

One my considerations is how I will persuade my students to talk more as I don’t have the luxury to meet them regularly to build trust. How can I beat the clock within the limited time their lecturers “sacrifice” from their lecture’s time in order for me to introduce them to the complex landscape of Information?

While the new fees era evolves, I keep myself alert towards new Institutional policies and business models and the implications they may have in teaching, learning and the students’ access to learning resources.

This entry was posted in #fslt12 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

